Learn more about Tennessee accident laws, personal injury, liability minimums.
Home to picturesque natural scenery, rich history, and music, the Volunteers state also has its fair share of car accidents and personal injury lawsuits/litigations.
Like virtually every other state in the United States, Tennessee litigations can sometimes get protracted and leave accident victims sad, confused and financially drained.
If you or someone close to you gets injured or involved in a car accident in Tennessee, the victim has legal rights to sue and get compensated for whatever cost they must have incurred, from medical bills to lost wages, pain, and suffering.
Let’s take a further look into Tennessee’s interstate highways (and the deadliest) include:
- Interstate 40: travels through Memphis, Nashville and Knoxville
- Tail of the dragon (by 129): Travels all the way to NC
- Interstate 24: 125 miles of highway traveling all throughout Monteagle Mountain
The state has an average of 1,280 fatal crashes per year. Crashes with injuries make up approximately 70,000 +.
Tennessee, like every state, has a deadline to file a lawsuit case. These deadlines are laws called the statute of limitations. That means that you have only that set timeline to file your suit.
- Car Accident: 1 years
- Injury to person: 1 year
- Wrongful Death: 1 Year
- Professional malpractice: 1 year
- Judgements: 10 years
This information can further be found on FindLaw.
At fault car insurance
Tennessee at-fault law means that the driver that is at fault and caused the accident is legally responsible for injuries and damages caused to a victim(s):
The minimum limits of liability your car insurance must have are:
- $25,000 for each injury or death p/accident.
- $50,000 for total injuries or deaths p/accident.
- $15,000 for property damage p/accident.
Tennessee is a comparative negligence state
This system is better for people involved in accidents. Under its rules, whatever was the amount you were negligent for in the accident, that amount will limit your recovery. In other words, if the insurance decides that you were 92% at fault, you will be able to recover only 8% of your damages as long as your share of liability is less than 50 percent.
We have learned today that while plaintiffs in Tennessee have the right to sue for damages, the chances are that case will take time to settle, and when it eventually does, the award will take a bit more time before it is paid. Amidst all of these delays, bills won’t stop coming — rent, feeding and medical emergencies, among others.
Instead of letting defense attorneys frustrate you into dropping the case or settling early, you can apply for settlement funding to buy your attorney ample time to gather evidence to support your claims and build a strong case. That way, it doesn’t matter if the case drags for ages — you will have enough cash to tide you over. Since our rates are capped, no. matter when your case settles, your interest will stop in the second or third year of your loan.
If you are struggling to make ends meet during your legal battle and need money to cater to emergencies and other urgent needs, don’t rush into settling for less than your case is worth. Instead, reach out to Baker Street Funding for fast and low-interest legal funding, an experienced company funding most typed of personal injury claims against p[ending Tennessee lawsuit settlements. A cash advance on you pending lawsuit can help you get back on track today.
Get an advance for your case in T.N. fast.
Counties we typically fund in Tennessee:
Cities in Tennessee we commonly fund:
- Johnson City