Learn more about Oklahoma personal injury laws, the insurance company and lawsuit loans.
Personal injuries in Oklahoma
Oklahoma is popular for having the largest population of Native Americans with more manufactured lakes in the U.S.
Oklahoma is located in the south-central region of the United States, and the state capital is Oklahoma City, being also the largest city in the state. It also has the most tornadoes, which bring many injuries during that time of the year. The state also has some stunning landmarks such as Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum, Washita Battlefield National Historic Site, and Bricktown, amongst many others.
As much greatness that Oklahoma brings, according to the government, Oklahoma is the 8th most dangerous state for driving, bringing over 600 fatalities per year, and speeding counting for 20% of fatalities.
The most dangerous roads are:
- The Turner Turnpike
- Lake Hefner Parkway
- State Highway 9
- Interstate 40
- Interstate 240
Personal injury cases arise out of slip-and-fall accidents, car crashes, medical malpractice, and more. If you are waiting longer for the insurance to pay your claims, are injured, and have a personal injury attorney, you can contact Baker Street Funding to inquire about legal funding in Oklahoma. We may be able to help you financially while your case settles in your favor.
The insurance and car accidents.
Oklahoma is an at-fault, or “tort” state. This means that the driver who caused the accident is responsible for all damages. Oklahoma also plays by the comparative negligence law, which means the damages you recover will depend on how much at fault you were for the accident. You can still claim compensation, but you have to be at 49% or less guilty. It gets trickier though because if you are found to be 50% (or more) guilty of the crash, you won’t be able to recover anything for your damages.
The minimum auto insurance policy limits in Oklahoma are 25/50/25:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident.
Statute of limitations
The standard limit for personal injuries in Oklahoma is 2 years
The statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits in the state of Oklahoma (according to Oklahoma Statutes section 12-95) is two years of the date of the injury. This means that if you do not file your case within two years of your accident, you won’t recover compensation for your damages and injuries.
Legal funding's role
If you live in the state of Oklahoma and you have been injured in a “no-fault” accident and do not have any prior liens, you could be automatically pre-approved for an advance. Even if your lawsuit has not been filed yet, and you are still early in your case, if you require surgeries and injections, as long as you have retained an attorney, Baker Street Funding can help you get funds in advance from your pending lawsuit today.
Contact us at (888) 711-3599 to apply for an advance on your lawsuit over the phone.
Lawsuit loans near you
- Oklahoma County
- Tulsa County
- Cleveland County
- Canadian County
- Comanche County
- Rogers County
- Pain County
- Wagoner County
- Oklahoma City
- Broken Arrow
- Midwest City